DEPARTMENT OF HAWAIIAN HOME LANDS

Adoption of Chapter 10-4.1
Hawaii Administrative Rules

1. Chapter 10-4.1, Hawaii Administrative Rules,
entitled “Management of Water Systems”, is adopted to
read as follows:

“HAWAII ADMINSTRATIVE RULES

TITLE 10

DEPARTMENT OF HAWAITAN HOME LANDS

CHAPTER 4.1

MANAGEMENT OF WATER SYSTEMS

Subchapter 1 General Provisions

§10-4.1-1 Purpose

§10-4.1-2 Applicability

§10-4.1-3 Definitions

§10-4.1-4 General conditions for water service

§10-4.1-5 Water pressure conditions and elevation
agreement

§10-4.1-6 Application for water service

§10-4.1-7 Installation of water service

§10-4.1-8 Responsibility for equipment

§10-4.1-9 Payment of bills and delinqgquency



§10-4.1-10 Discontinuance of service

§10-4.1-11 Restoration of water service

§10-4.1-12 Meter test and adjustment of bill

§$10-4.1-13 Underground leak adjustment

§10-4.1-14 Water charge adjustment

§10-4.1-15 Obstructed meter fine

§10-4.1-16 Tampering prohibited

§10-4.1-17 Accessing the consumer’s premises

§10-4.1-18 Cross-connection control and
backflow prevention

§10-4.1-19 Interruption of water supply

§10-4.1-20 Meter disconnection or reconnection
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§10-4.1-22 Department fire hydrants and fire
protection
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§10-4.1-25 Electrical grounding

§10-4.1-26 Unscheduled meter replacement

§10-4.1-27 Compensation
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§10-4.1-33 Conservation and emergency measures
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§10-4.1-41 General conditions
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§10-4.1-43 Conservation measures and emergency
conditions

§10-4.1-44 Unauthorized drawing of water



10-4.1-3

SUBCHAPTER 1

GENERAL PROVISIONS

§10-4.1-1 Purpose. The purpose of this
subchapter is to promote the health, safety, and
general welfare of the community by providing
standards for governing water service provided by
water systems in the exclusive control of the
department. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act
§222) (Imp: HHC Act $§221)

§10-4.1-2 Applicability. This subchapter shall
apply to all water systems under the exclusive control
of the department. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC
Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-3 Definitions. As used in this chapter,
unless plainly evident from the context that a
different meaning is intended:

“Applicant” means any person who submits an
application for water service or additional water
service.

“Application” means a written request for water
service or additional water service.

“Consumer” means the person, firm, corporation,
association, or governmental entity, whether owner or
tenant, whose name appears on the records of the
department as the party responsible and liable for
receiving water service from the department.

“Consumer's water system” means the pipes and
plumbing extending from the water service connection.

“Cross-connection” means any actual or potential
connection between the public water supply and a
source of contamination or pollution.
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“"County” means the county where the department
water service is located.

“Department of health” means the State of Hawaii
department of health.

“Governmental entity” means any State of Hawaii
or county department or office.

“"Main” or “main pipe” means the department's
supply or distribution pipe from which service
connections are made.

“"Non-potable water” means water that has not been
certified by the department of health as suitable for
cooking, drinking, and bathing purposes.

“Potable water” means water that has been
certified by the department of health as suitable for
cooking, drinking, and bathing purposes.

“Premises” means a parcel of real property and
any structures thereon which have water service, will
require water service, or requires additional water
service.

“Public water system” means a water system which
provides water for human consumption as provided by
the department of health in title 11, Hawaii
administrative rules chapter 20.

“Service lateral” means the main tap and complete
installation of pipes, fittings, and appurtenances
from the main to and including the meter.

“Water meter” or “meter” means a device that
measures the volume of water delivered to any
premises.

“Water service” means the delivery of water to
any premises.

“Water spigot” means a water spigot or standpipe
that is maintained by the department and connected to
a public water system for lessee access to potable
water.

“Water system” means a network of pipelines, main
taps, storage, facilities, pumps, shut-off wvalve, and
other appurtenances, wells, water filtration treatment
facilities, or other sources which furnishes a supply
of water to the premises. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)
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§10-4.1-4 General conditions for water service.
(a) Any applicant whose premises is located within
service limits established by the department and
adjacent to a distribution main where pressure
conditions permit may obtain water service, provided
that:

(1) The existing water system servicing the area
has adequate physical and legal capacity, as
determined by the department, for such
intended use without impairing service to
existing consumers or future lessees;

(2) All applicable fees and deposits for such
service have been paid in full;

(3) The applicant is not delinquent on other
services in his or her name; and,

(4) The applicant agrees to abide by the rules,
regulations, and policies of the department
relating to water service.

(b) Water service shall be restricted to the

property for which the application is made.

(c) All water service supplied by the department
shall be measured by means of meters furnished by the
department and only the department is authorized to
install water meters on department water systems.

(d) The department shall determine the final
location and size of the service lateral. Service
laterals shall be operated and maintained by the
department.

(e) The department shall only be responsible for
the operation and maintenance of water systems in its
exclusive control, which may include contracted
operations and maintenance services.

[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act $222) (Imp:
HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-5 Water pressure conditions and
elevation agreement. (a) The department shall
exercise due diligence and reasonable care to maintain
adequate pressure in its water mains but accepts no
responsibility to maintain such pressure.
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(b) Where a premise is situated at such an
elevation that it cannot be assured of a dependable
supply or of adequate service from the department's
distribution system, the consumer, in consideration of
water service and connection to the department's
system:

(1) Shall agree to accept such service as the
department is able to render from its
existing facilities;

(2) Shall agree to install, if necessary, and
maintain at the consumer's expense a tank
and pump, with an air gap between the
consumer's supply pipe and the department's
system, of suitable design and of sufficient
capacity to furnish an adequate supply of
water; and

(3) Shall execute a written release in favor of
the department for all claims due to any
inadequacy in the department's system or
inadequacy of water supply to the premise
including but not limited to lack of fire
department services in the event of a fire.

(c) When the pressure of the department's supply
fluctuates or is higher than that for which individual
fixtures are designed, the consumer shall protect such
fixtures by installing and maintaining pressure
reducing, or relief wvalves, or both. The department
shall not be liable for damage due to pressure
conditions or for damages caused by or arising from
the failure of, or the defective condition of such
pressure regulators or relief valves, or for damage
that may occur through the installation, maintenance,
or use of such equipment. [Eff ]

(Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-6 Application for water service. (a)
FEach prospective consumer shall complete a standard
application form for the water service desired.
Prospective consumers shall assume responsibility for
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the payment of future charges for service at the
location identified on the application before water is
turned on for any use. The department shall inform
the applicant in writing that the application is
complete and accepted or if the application is
deficient, what specific information is necessary to
complete the application. The department shall assign
an account number when the application is complete.
The person, entity, or organization executing the
application form shall be liable for the payment of
all charges for water service at the designated
location including a meter charge with each billing
cycle as provided in section 10-4.1-31 and 10-4.1-42.

(b) Charges for service shall begin when the
service lateral and the consumer’s water system are
physically joined and water is made available to the
consumer, and will continue until:

(1) The consumer makes a written request to
discontinue service;

(2) A judicial order to discontinue service is
issued; or

(3) The department discontinues service for

failure of the consumer to comply with the
provisions of this subchapter.

(d) When an application for water service is
made by a former consumer who was responsible for and
failed to pay all bills for water service previously
rendered, regardless of location or time incurred, the
department may refuse to furnish service to the
premises of the applicant until the outstanding bills
are paid.

(e) A consumer taking possession of the premises
and using water without having made application for
the transfer of water service shall be held liable for
the water delivered from the date of the last recorded
meter reading. If application for transfer is not
made, and accumulated bills for water service are not
paid upon presentation, the water service may be
discontinued ten business days after written notice is
sent to the consumer. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)
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§10-4.1-7 Installation of water service. (a)
When an application for water service has been
approved, water service shall be installed as
approved. There shall be one meter for each service,
unless the department, because of operating necessity,
installs a combination meter, or two or more meters in
parallel. All meters shall be tested for accuracy
before installation. All meters shall be installed
along the property boundary, unless, due to operating
necessity or other extenuating situations, the
department approves installation of the meter
elsewhere.

(b) It is the consumer’s responsibility and
expense to install their supply pipe and water system,
to connect such system to the department’s service
lateral, and to install an approved backflow
prevention device on the consumer’s system on the
downstream side of the meter. The department may
provide backflow prevention devices to lessees as a
means to protect the public water system, however the
cost of installation shall be paid by the consumer
within thirty days of installation. The consumer’s
water system shall, at all times, remain the sole
property of the consumer, who shall be responsible for
its maintenance, repair, and replacement.

(c) A readily accessible shutoff valve
controlling all outlets shall be installed by the
department on the consumer's water service supply pipe
at a location to be determined by the department. In
addition, the department may install a shutoff wvalve
before the meter for the use of employees of the
department. If a replacement of the shutoff valve is
necessary on the consumer’s side of the service supply
pipe, it shall be installed by the department and paid
for by the consumer.

(d) The department may make the connection to
the consumer’s water service supply pipe once the
consumer installs the supply pipe at the approved
location.

(e) Only the department may connect or
disconnect the water service to or from the
department's main.
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(f) When the proper size of service lateral for
any premises has been determined and the department
has made installation at the location specified by the
consumer, the department has fulfilled its obligations
insofar as the size of the service and the location
thereof are concerned. If the consumer desires a
change in size of the service lateral or a change in
the location thereof, the consumer shall bear all
costs of such change.

(g) Whenever a check valve or pressure reducing
valve is installed on the consumer’s cold water supply
line between the meter and the hot water storage tank
or heater, there shall be installed on the consumer’s
hot water distribution system a suitable pressure
relief valve.

(h) Once installed, any costs associated with
the repair or replacement of damaged or missing meters
and services will be charged to the consumer. Such
costs include but are not limited to gaskets, meter
boxes, 1lid inserts, meters, pressure regulator valves,
related labor, equipment, vehicles, and materials.
This does not include replacement of meters that are
operating outside of tolerances. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-8 Responsibility for equipment. (a) At
the consumer's own risk and expense, the consumer
shall furnish, install, and keep in good, safe, and
operating condition all equipment that may be required
for receiving, controlling, applying, and utilizing
water. The department shall not be responsible for
any loss or damage caused by the improper installation
of such equipment, or the negligence, want of proper
care, or wrongful act of the consumer.

(b) Water service may be discontinued to any
consumer whose water system includes plumbing fixtures
or water containers in any form, or of any use, which
in the opinion of the department may contaminate the
department’s water supply or may endanger the public
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water supply from a public health standpoint. Any
such discontinuation of service shall continue until
such dangerous fixtures or uses have been corrected,
removed or discontinued, and the department is assured
that the dangerous fixtures or uses will not be
reinstalled or resumed.

(c) The department shall not be responsible for
damage to property caused by spigots, faucets, valves,
and other equipment that may be open when water is
turned on at the meter either when turned on
originally or when turned on after temporary shutdown.

(d) All service laterals are the property of the
department and shall be operated and maintained by the
department.

(e) All equipment belonging to the department
and installed upon the consumer’s premises for
measurement, test, check, or any other purpose, shall
continue to be the property of the department, and the
department may access the consumer’s premises without
consent whenever necessary to inspect, maintain,
repair, replace, or remove the equipment. The
consumer shall exercise reasonable care to prevent
damage to meters and other equipment of the department
upon the premises and shall in no way interfere with
the operation of the same.

(f) Any cost to repair damaged water mains,
service laterals, valves, fire hydrants, or other
property of the department shall be paid for by the
party responsible for the damage. The consumer shall
be liable for any damage to a meter or other equipment
or property of contractors, licensees or permittees,
on the consumer’s premises, and the department shall
be promptly reimbursed by the consumer for any such
damage upon presentation of the bill thereof. In the
event settlement for such damage is not made within
thirty days, the department may discontinue water
service to the premises according to 10-4.1-10.

(g) When a meter is found to have been damaged
by hot water or steam emanating from the premises
served, the consumer shall pay for all costs required
to repair the meter. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

10
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§10-4.1-9 Payment of bills and delinquency. (a)
All bills shall be due and payable within twenty-one
days from the bill date. Payment shall be made at the
office of the department or, at the department’s
option, to duly authorized collectors of the
department. Any bill not paid within thirty days from
the bill date, shall be considered delinquent and the
water service shall be subject to shut-off. There
shall be a service charge for payments made by check
or electronic debit which have been dishonored for any
reason. The service charge shall be as set in section
40-35.5, HRS. On accounts where payments have been
dishonored more than four times in one calendar year,
the department may require payment on the account to
be made by cash, by certified or cashier's check or by
money order, and may require a deposit equal to the
highest amount billed in the last twelve months to be
held.

(b) An account is delinquent when it is not paid
in full within thirty days after the bill date. A
late payment charge shall be assessed at an amount of
one per cent for each month or fraction thereof
against the delinquent balance. When a delinquent
account remains unpaid twenty-one days after the
second regular billing, water service for the account
may be discontinued.

(c) The department may enter into a payment
agreement with a consumer to facilitate the payment of
delinquent water charges. The terms of a payment
agreement between the department and a lessee-consumer
may include alternative payment methods and shall not
exceed the term of five years. Current charges shall
continue to be paid when due. The agreement shall be
signed by the department and the consumer, and breach
of such an agreement by the consumer shall result in
further collection efforts including disconnection.

(1) Alternative payment methods are goods that
are grown, caught, or produced by the
consumer and donated to the homestead
community on island or services provided by

11
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the consumer free of charge to the
department. Goods shall be dropped off at
the district office at a time determined by
the district office supervisor for
distribution among beneficiaries. Services
shall be provided to the department as
determined by the district office
supervisor.

The value of the alternative payment methods
rendered shall not exceed five per cent of
the delinquent amount. All terms regarding
alternative payment methods, including the
goods or services or both to be donated,
valuation, and dates and times of service or
drop off shall be included in the payment
agreement. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-10 Discontinuation of service. (a) The
department may refuse or discontinue water service for
any of the following reasons:

(1)

Non-payment of bills or fees. If the
consumer fails to pay any sums due, the
department may discontinue service five
business days after written notice is given
to the consumer.

Noncompliance with rules and regulations. If
the consumer fails to comply with any of the
department’s rules and regulations and
noncompliance is not corrected within five
business days after written notice is given
to the consumer, the department may
discontinue service.

Unauthorized use of water. Without notice,
the department may refuse or discontinue
water service to any premises or consumer to
protect itself against fraud, abuse or
unauthorized use of water. For unauthorized
use of water, a surcharge may be assessed as
provided in section 10-4.1-31 and 10-4.1-42.

12
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(4) Wasteful use of water. Where negligent or
wasteful use of water exists on any premises
and such conditions are not corrected within
five business days after written notice is
given to the consumer, the department may
discontinue service.

(5) Service detrimental to others. The
department may refuse to furnish water and
may discontinue the service to any premises
where the demands of the consumer will
result in inadequate service to others.

(b) Where discontinuation of water service for
any of the above reasons is proposed, the department
shall, prior to the proposed shut off, give the
consumer written notice at least five business days
before shut off. The notice shall specify the reasons
for the proposed shut off as well as inform the
consumer of the right to dispute the shut off by
making appropriate request to the department at the
address or phone number provided on the notice. The
notice shall further inform the consumer that once
water service has been discontinued, water service may
be restored but only in accordance with section 10-
4.1-11.

(c) If the consumer wishes to dispute the shut
off, the consumer shall within five business days from
the date of the notice of shut off, request a billing
conference. Once requested, the billing conference
shall be scheduled at the earliest reasonable
opportunity for the consumer and in no case more than
ten days from the request and the consumer shall be
given the option of having the conference over the
phone or in person with a district office supervisor
from another district office that manages a department
water system. If an in person conference is
requested, the district office supervisor shall travel
to meet with the consumer on the consumer’s island.
The district office supervisor conducting the billing
conference shall not have previously been involved in
the case, shall objectively review the basis for water
shut off, shall be subject to all state ethics rules
on conflicts of interest, and shall exercise impartial

13
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judgment in deciding the merits of the consumer’s
request for reinstatement of water service.

(1)

At the billing conference, the consumer
shall have the right to submit evidence,
present and cross examine witnesses, and
bring a representative to aid in presenting
the case. The consumer shall have the right
to see the department’s records concerning
the account and shall have the right to
reasonable explanation for any matter
concerning the proposed discontinuance of
service. The district office supervisor
conducting the billing conference shall be
empowered to correct any errors in billing
and to take whatever remedial action is
necessary 1f the consumer presents evidence
that would demonstrate by a preponderance of
the evidence that the consumer is not
responsible for conditions leading to the
department’s decision to shut off service
other than non-payment of the water bill.
The district office supervisor conducting
the billing conference shall make a written
decision within three business days of the
conference.

If the consumer is dissatisfied with the
decision from the billing conference, the
consumer shall have the right within five
business days of receipt of the written
decision to appeal the matter to the
chairman or the chairman’s designee. The
amount due shall be paid into an escrow
trust account after the billing conference
with the district office supervisor and
shall not be postponed pending the

appeal. The chairman or the chairman’s
designee shall review the consumer's written
appeal and the billing conference record and
decision for compelling factual, legal, or
procedural errors, or any combination

14
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thereof, and render a final written decision
affirming the district office supervisor's
written decision or remanding the matter to
the district office supervisor for further
handling pursuant to the chairman's or the
chairman’s designee’s written decision and
direction on appeal. The decision of the
chairman shall be final.

(d) A charge of $150 shall be added to each
account in which service is discontinued if the
consumer or other party cuts the lock and turns the
meter on without prior approval of the department.

The meter shall be removed and the water service
capped off. Water service shall not be reconnected
until the consumer has paid the past due water
charges, water disconnection charges, and the meter
disconnection and reconnection charges.

(e) An account that remains disconnected or
suspended because of delinquent payment shall continue
to accrue monthly base rate service charges as well as
late fees.

(f) A consumer about to vacate any premises
supplied with water by the department shall give
written notice of their intention to vacate,
specifying the date service should be discontinued.

If the consumer fails to give such notice, the
consumer shall be responsible for all water service
furnished to such premises until the department has
received a notice of discontinuance. Before buildings
with water service are demolished, the department
shall be notified so the water service can be shut
off.

(g) The department may remove a meter for non-
use after one year of non-use. A consumer whose meter
is removed for non-use forfeits all previous fees and
reapplication shall be treated as a new service
connection with applicable costs. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

15
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§10-4.1-11 Restoration of water service. Water
service shall not be resumed until all of the
consumer’s delinguent accounts, including all charges,
fees, and reinstallation costs, including one hour of
labor, and materials, transportation, and any other
overhead costs for the meter reinstallation and
reactivation, have been paid in full or the consumer
has entered into and signed an approved payment plan.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp:

HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-12 Meter test and adjustment of bill.

(a) Any consumer who has a reasonable doubt of the
accuracy of the meter serving his or her premises may
request a test of the meter. The consumer may request
to be notified as to the time of the test and may
witness the test. ©No charge shall be made for meter
tests unless such tests are requested more often than
once every twelve months.

(b) If, as a result of the test, the meter is
found to register more than five percent fast under
conditions of normal operation, the department shall
refund to the consumer the overcharge based on past
consumption, for a period not exceeding six months,
unless it can be proven that the error was due to some
cause, the date of which can be fixed, then the
overcharge shall be computed back to, but not beyond,
such date.

(c) The consumer has sole control of the water
delivered beyond the department’s meter and the
department is not responsible for the maintenance and
repairs to pipes and fixtures beyond the meter.

(d) If the meter fails to register due to any
cause except the non-use of water, an average bill may
be rendered. Such average bill will be subject to
equitable adjustment taking into account all factors
before, during, and after the period of said bill.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp:

HHC Act §221)

16
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§10-4.1-13 Underground leak adjustment. (a) If
a consumer experiences a leak within their water line,
the consumer may request the department provide a leak
adjustment for excessive bills provided a leak
adjustment was not granted to the consumer within the
twelve month period prior to the request and the leak
was reported to the department and repaired within
thirty days of detection. The adjustment shall be
one-half of the excess consumption over a normal bill.

(b) No additional refunds shall be given.

(c) If there is not an existing valve on the
consumer side of the meter, there shall be no credit
processed on the account until a valve is installed.

(d) Department personnel shall be dispatched to
inspect the consumer’s meter to verify the leak has
been repaired. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act
§222) (Imp: HHC Act $§221)

§10-4.1-14 Water charge adjustment. Errors in
billing or collection shall be corrected in a timely

manner by the department. Resulting credits on
accounts or refunds shall be made as expeditiously as
possible. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act

§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-15 Obstructed meter fine. (a) The
department shall charge the consumer an obstructed
meter fine of twenty-five dollars per billing period
when access to the water meter is significantly
obstructed by landscaping or other barriers and the
meter cannot be read. This fine shall be applied only
after the property owner has been notified, via a door
hanger, that the obstruction exists and that the
problem must be corrected by the time of the next
meter reading.

(b) If the consumer fails to remove the
obstruction, the department may remove the obstruction

17
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and bill the consumer twenty-five dollars for the cost
of remediation. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC
Act §222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-16 Tampering prohibited. (a) Any
person found tampering with service laterals, water
meters, the valve, or stopcock before the meter shall
be guilty of a misdemeanor, pursuant to section 701-
107 (3), HRS, and shall be liable for all costs
associated with any repair to the service lateral,
water meter, valve, or stopcock.

(b) A late payment charge shall be assessed at
the rate of one per cent for each month or fraction
thereof against costs associated with repairs for
tampering that go unpaid for thirty days following the
date of billing. After sixty days, the delinquency
shall be reported to the commission and the amount due

turned over to collections. Further legal action may
be taken with commission approval.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act $222) (Imp:

HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-17 Accessing the consumer’s premises.
Any properly identified officer or employee of the
department shall have the right of ingress to and
egress from the consumer’s premises at any reasonable
hour, and at any hour during an emergency, for any
purpose reasonably connected to the protection of the
public drinking water system and furnishing of water
to said premises and the exercise of all rights
secured to it by law or this subchapter. 1If the
officer or employee is prevented from carrying out the
duties, the department may shut off water service to
salid premises five business days after written notice

18
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is given to the consumer. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-18 Cross-connection control and backflow

prevention. (a) No cross-connections shall be made
without the written consent of the department.
(b) It is unlawful for any person to make,

maintain, or cause temporarily or permanently, any
cross-connection that has a potential for backflow
between their plumbing pipes or water fixtures and the
department’s water system. Existing cross-connections
between the department’s water system and any
auxiliary water supply shall be eliminated or
protected by means of an approved backflow prevention
assembly. Cross-connection control and backflow
prevention requirements for facilities and premises
shall be in accordance to this subchapter.

(c) The department may require installation of
an approved backflow prevention assembly on the
consumer’s side of the meter at the consumer’s expense
before service will be provided. The department may
provide for the installation of an approved backflow
prevention assembly to homestead lots in the service
area.

(d) If uninterrupted water service is necessary,
an additional backflow prevention assembly may be
installed in an approved manner to ensure continued
water service whenever inspection, testing and repair
procedures is being performed on any one of these
assemblies.

(e) The backflow prevention assembly installed
in accordance with these rules shall, unless otherwise
approved by the department in writing, be located
above ground and in a manner safe from flooding or
submergence in water or other liquid, properly
protected from external damage, freely accessible, and
with adequate working room for inspections, testing,
and repairing.

(f) All backflow prevention devices shall be
tested at least once annually and as often as required

19
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by the department where successive tests indicate
repeated failure. Repairs, replacement of parts, or
any other maintenance shall be made whenever deemed
necessary by the department and at the expense of the
consumer. The annual test shall be the responsibility
of the consumer and shall be made in accordance with
methods approved by the department. Upon request by
the department, the consumer shall present an
affidavit certifying that there are no cross-
connections of the type prohibited under this rule on
the premises or describing in detail all nonconforming
connections or installations.

(g) Records of tests, repairs, parts, and
inspections shall be made on forms prescribed by the
department and furnished to the department. Failure
of the consumer to properly test and submit the
records may, at the option of the department, result
in termination of service or the department making the
tests, repairing and replacing any equipment, and
charging the cost to the consumer.

(h) When a backflow prevention assembly fails in
service, the consumer shall notify the department.
Repairs are the responsibility of the consumer. A

certified general tester shall perform the testing.
Backflow prevention assembly test forms shall be
completed and sent to the department for confirmation
that the device has been properly repaired and
functions as required. Inspection and approval by the
department shall be conducted before the device is put
back into operation.

(1) When the department encounters water uses
that represent a clear and immediate hazard to the
department’s water supply that cannot be immediately
abated, the department shall terminate water service
at the premises immediately. Written notice shall be
given to the consumer after water service termination.

(j) For other situations requiring backflow
protection where there is not apparent and immediate
hazard to the water supply, the department may
terminate water service to a consumer’s premises after
proper notification has been sent.
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(k) Conditions relative to the installation and
maintenance of cross-connection control and backflow
prevention referred to in this section shall be
subject to change to meet changing requirements of
federal, state, and county laws, ordinances, and
rules. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222)
(Imp: HHC Act $§221)

§10-4.1-19 Interruption of water supply. (a)
While the department shall exercise reasonable
diligence and care to deliver an adequate supply of
potable water under reasonable pressure, the
department shall not be financially liable for any
direct or consequential damages resulting from water
supply interruption, shortage, insufficiency of
supply, inadequate or excessive water pressure,
leakage on the consumer’s premises, or temporary
colored and turbid water gquality conditions caused by
emergency repair of water mains. The department
further disclaims all warranties, expressed or
implied, and reserves the right to shut off water
mains for repairs, extensions, or alterations, and to
terminate water service as provided herein for
conservation measures, during emergency conditions,
and for other reasons deemed by the department to be
necessary and proper without notice.

(b) The department may shut off water from the
mains without notice for making repairs, extensions,
alterations, or for other reason. Consumers depending
upon a continuous supply of water shall provide for
their own emergency water storage and any check valves
or other devices necessary for the protection of
plumbing or fixtures against failure of the pressure

or supply of water in the department’s mains. Repairs
or improvements shall be completed as rapidly as
practicable. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act

§222) (Imp: HHC Act $§221)
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§10-4.1-20 Meter disconnection or reconnection
fees. (a) The department shall charge a fee equal to
one hour of labor and overhead costs to those
consumers requesting disconnection or reconnection of
a water meter when not related to an account
delinquency. The department shall apply such charges
to the consumer’s account.

(b) Upon request and payment of a turn off fee
the department shall turn off the water at the meter
during regular business hours. Upon request and
payment of a turn on fee, the department shall turn on
the water at the meter during regular business hours.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act $222) (Imp:

HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-21 Change in service administration fee.
(a) The department shall levy a charge when a change
in service status requires administrative action or a
special meter reading by department personnel.

(b) When a change in account status requires a
special water meter reading by the department a fee
equal to one hour of labor and costs shall be charged
to the consumer. When a change in account status does
not require a special water meter reading by the
department the standard change of owner fee shall be
charged to the consumer. [Eff ]

(Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-22 Department fire hydrants and fire
protection. (a) Any use of a fire hydrant, fire
protection reservoir, or the taking of water from one
for purposes other than fire protection by persons
other than authorized employees of the fire department
or of the department is prohibited without a written
permit from the department. The fire department shall
have the prior right to use any hydrant at any time
and shall have the authority to remove peremptorily,
if necessary in case of emergency, any connection
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approved by the department. The fire department shall
notify the department when use of water during non-
fire events, including training, is contemplated.
Hydrant main line valves shall not be used to control
flows. The fire department shall coordinate with the
department during a fire emergency to prevent damage
to the water system.

(b) The department may provide water to a
governmental entity provided the governmental entity
first submits a written hydrant permit application and
agrees to all the terms and conditions contained
therein including but not limited to notifying the
department when any use of water is contemplated,
paying a security deposit for a meter assembly and
backflow prevention device and utilizing the meter
assembly and backflow prevention device. Any failure
of the permittee to properly utilize the meter
assembly to record water taken through the fire
hydrant shall constitute a violation of the hydrant
permit and shall immediately terminate the hydrant
permit and the permittee’s right to draw water.
Hydrant permits shall not be issued for a period
longer than six months. Renewal shall be allowed on a
case by case basis.

(c) Any damage to fire hydrants, and any
consequent resulting loss or damage to property, or
any injury to persons arising from or out of the
damage to fire hydrants shall be paid for by the
person or legal entity responsible for the damage.
All repairs for any damage to fire hydrants shall be
paid by the person or entity responsible for the
damage.

(d) Any persons or entities, or both, found to
have used, obstructed, or tampered with a department
fire hydrant without the express written consent of
department shall be assessed fees and charges
including the estimated amount of the water taken,
water discharged by the department to clear the mains,
labor and materials, and administrative costs. Each
invoice not paid within ten calendar days of date
thereon will accrue a late charge equal to five per
cent of the unpaid balance at the time it becomes
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delinquent and an additional five per cent for each
month delinquent thereafter.

(e) The department shall, if it approves the
request for a change in location of a hydrant, change
such location; provided, that all labor, material,
equipment, and all other costs and charges are paid in
advance by the consumer. [Eff ]

(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-23 Water spigots. (a) The department
may provide water spigots connected to public water
systems. The water spigot shall be labeled with the
appropriate public water system number as issued by
the department of health. FEach water spigot, and
water spigot area, shall be maintained by the
department in a manner suitable for lessee access to
potable water.

(b) Each spigot shall be metered and the
commission shall set the maximum amount that may be
drawn from each spigot during a single billing cycle.

(c) The department shall manage access to the
spigot by reasonable means.

(d) The department may restrict spigot use
during time of water restrictions.

(e) The department guarantees potable water only
to the point of withdrawal from the public water
system. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222)

(Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-24 Consumer’s sale of water. Subject to
civil or criminal prosecution or both, unless
specifically agreed upon by the commission, the
consumer shall not sell any water received or
purchased from the department. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)
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§10-4.1-25 Electrical grounding. (a)
Protective grounding of alternating current secondary
distribution circuits made to the water system shall
conform in all details with the national electrical
code of the national board of fire underwriters and
with the county building code where the water system
is located.

(b) The department shall not be responsible for
any damage or injury caused by any electrical
grounding.

(c) No grounding of direct current to any
portion of the water system shall be permitted.

(d) No grounding other than as provided in this
section shall be made to any portion of the water
system without the department’s written approval.

(e) The department shall not be responsible for
the maintaining of a continuous metallic water piping
system and reserves the right, without liability to
public utility electric companies, electric consumers,
or any other agency, consumer, or individual, to
create a physical break in its service laterals and
mains, or to incorporate non-metallic pipes and
appurtenances in its system and to make joints of any
materials, without regard to their efficiency as
conductors of electricity and without giving notice.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp:
HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-26 Unscheduled meter replacement. If a
consumer requests a meter replacement prior to the
scheduled routine replacement, the consumer will be
billed for the service call plus the current cost of

the meter. As is the case with all new meters, upon
installation the meter becomes the property of the
department. [Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act

§222) (Imp: HHC Act $§221)
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§10-4.1-27 Compensation. Employees of the
department are strictly forbidden to demand or accept
personal compensation for services rendered.

[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act §222) (Imp:
HHC Act §221)

§§10-4.1-28 to 10-4.1-30 (Reserved)

SUBCHAPTER 2

HAWATIAN HOME LANDS PUBLIC WATER SYSTEMS

§10-4.1-31 Water service rates. (a) The
department shall conduct a cost of service study
annually, based upon enterprise accounting, and a
water service rates analysis at least every three
years.

(b) Water service rates for each department
owned public water system shall be established by the
commission and attached to this chapter. Effective
July 1, 2019, once each fiscal year the commission may
adjust base water service charges by no more than ten
per cent per thousand gallons of water
delivered. Effective upon approval by the commission,
water service rates are set as follows:

(1) The table entitled, “Hoolehua Water System
Service Rates Approved on April 17, 2018”7,
dated April 17, 2018, attached as Exhibit
“A” at the end of this chapter and made part
of this chapter.

(2) The table entitled, “Kawaihae Water System
Service Rates Approved on May 14,

2018”, dated May 14, 2018, attached as
Exhibit “B” at the end of this chapter and
made part of this chapter.

(3) The table entitled, “Anahola Water System
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Service Rates Approved on August 21, 2018”7,
dated August 21, 2018, attached as Exhibit
“C” at the end of this chapter and made part
of this chapter. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-32 Meter reading and rendering of bills.
(a) Meter readings and billings shall be on at least
a bi-monthly basis, except for closing of accounts for
special conditions with the approval of the
department.

(b) Closing bills for a period shorter than the
regular billing period shall be determined by the sum
of the charges per water meter reading and prorating
of the monthly service charge. If a meter cannot be
read, an estimated bill shall be rendered following
acceptable practices using the reading, where
available, of the same time the previous year.

(c) Bills for metered water service shall be on
a per meter basis. If the consumer has more than one
metered installation on the premises, each meter shall
be billed separately. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-33 Conservation and emergency measures.
(a) Whenever, in the department’s opinion, special
conservation measures are advisable to forestall water
shortage or an emergency, the department may restrict
the use of water by any means or method of control.
The department shall also have the right to limit the
quantity of water taken from any of its facilities.
In determining the priorities in restricting the use
of water, the health and safety of the public shall be
given first consideration over other uses.

(b) When the department’s water supply usage
exceeds the rate of resupply, the commission may
declare a water shortage or emergency and further
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restrict the use of water by any means or method of
control.

(c) The department shall notify consumers of
emergency conditions by written communication through
mailing, electronic posting, or the newspaper, or
combination thereof. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act §222) (Imp: HHC Act $§221)

§§10-4.1-34 to 10-4.1-40 (Reserved)

SUBCHAPTER 3

PUUKAPU NON-POTABLE WATER SYSTEM

§10-4.1-41 General conditions. (a) The water
supplied by the Puukapu non-potable water system is
intended to be used only for pastoral uses consistent
with pastoral leases. Consumers may not use water for
any other purpose except with the express written
consent of the department. The department makes no
guarantee, warranty, or representation, expressed or
implied, as to the quality, gquantity, flow rate,
condition, or fitness of the water supplied for any
use oOr purpose.

(b) The department shall deliver water to the
lot of each consumer at the ground elevation and at
the outlet site as the department may establish upon
each consumer’s land convenient with the operation of
the department’s irrigation system, and it shall be
the responsibility of each consumer to provide for the
distribution of water upon the consumer’s lot by the
consumer’s own method. [Eff ] (Auth:
HHC Act $222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)
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§10-4.1-42 Monthly maintenance fee. (a) The
lease shall provide service conditions and for the
assessment of the monthly maintenance fee set as
follows: the table entitled, “Puukapu Maintenance Fee”
Approved on May 19, 2014 and Extended on May 15,
2018”, dated May 15, 2018, attached as Exhibit “D” at
the end of this chapter and made part of this chapter.
[Eff ] (Auth: HHC Act $222) (Imp:

HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-43 Conservation measures and emergency
conditions. (a) Whenever, in the department’s
opinion, special conservation measures are deemed
necessary to forestall a water shortage and a
consequent emergency, the department may restrict or
ration the use of water by any method or means of
control. Livestock watering consumers may be required
to install an automatic water flow control device to
prevent waste or continued overflow from livestock
drinking troughs. Each device shall be approved by
the department prior to installation and shall be
tested periodically to determine its functionality.

(b) The department reserves the right in times
of declared emergency to allow the use of water for
emergency purposes. Charges for the water used shall
be established by the commission based on the nature
of the emergency and attendant circumstances.

(c) During periods of special conservation
measures, the department shall develop notices and
criteria for the manner in which water will be
delivered, restricted, and allocated for the duration
for the emergency. Violations of the restrictions or
allocations may result in the discontinuance of
service, additional water toll surcharges, or the
removal of the water connection.

(d) Upon declaration of emergency conditions and
implementation of mandatory conservation measures
(i.e., ten per cent, twenty per cent, or thirty per
cent cutbacks), consumers exceeding the level of
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mandatory cutback shall be assessed a surcharge as
established by the commission. [Eff ]
(Auth: HHC Act $§222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

§10-4.1-44 Unauthorized drawing of water. (a)
No person or entity shall be permitted to draw water
from any part of the system without the written
consent of the department. No approval shall be
granted in cases where, in the opinion of the
department, the drawing of water may adversely affect
the water service extended by the department to
lessees.

(b) Approvals given by the department under this
section are subject to revocation upon thirty days
written notice.” [Eff ] (Auth: HHC
Act §$222) (Imp: HHC Act §221)

2. The adoption of chapter 10-4.1, Hawaii
Administrative Rules, shall take effect ten days after
filing with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

I certify that the foregoing are copies of the
rules drafter in the Ramseyer format pursuant to the
requirements of section 91-4.1, Hawaii Revised
Statutes, which were adopted on [ ] and
filed with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

WILLIAM J. AILA, JR., Chairman
Hawaiian Homes Commission

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

el

Deputy Attorney General
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Exhibit “A”
April 17, 2018

HOOLEHUA WATER SYSTEM SERVICE RATES
APPROVED ON APRIL 17, 2018

Lessee Service Rates:

Lessee water service delivery (usage) tiers:

Gallons
Bi-Monthly
Tier 1 0-10,000
Tier 2 10,001 - 25,000
Tier 3 Over 25,000

Residential lessee meter service (base) fees:

Meter size
(inches)

Bi-Monthly FY19| FY20| FY21 FY 22| FY23 FY24 | FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
5/8" $6.21 $6.82 $7.43 $8.04 $8.65 $9.26 $9.87 | $1048 | $11.09 | $11.70
3/4" $7.76 $8.53 $9.29 | $10.05| $10.82 | $11.58 | $12.34 | $13.10| $13.87| $14.63

1" $12.75| $14.01 | $15.26 | $16.51 | $17.77 | $19.02 | $20.27 | $21.53 | $22.78 | $24.04
11/2" $24.40 | $26.80 | $29.19 | $31.59| $33.99 | $36.39 | $38.79| $41.18 | $43.58 | $45.98
2" $33.27 | $36.54 | $39.81 | $43.08 | $46.35| $49.62 | $52.89 | $56.16 | $59.43 | $62.70
3" $66.54 | $73.08 | $79.62 | $86.16 | $92.70 | $99.24 | $105.78 | $112.32 | $118.86 | $125.40
4" $121.99 | $133.98 | $145.97 | $157.96 | $169.95 | $181.94 | $193.93 | $205.92 | $217.91 | $229.90
6" $216.26 | $237.51 | $258.77 | $280.02 | $301.28 | $322.53 | $343.79 | $365.04 | $386.30 | $407.55
8" $332.70 | $365.40 | $398.10 | $430.80 | $463.50 | $496.20 | $528.90 | $561.60 | $594.30 | $627.00

Residential lessee water service delivery (usage) fees:

Per 1,000
gallons FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
Tier 1 $1.53 $1.65 $1.76 $1.87 $1.99 $2.10 $2.22 $2.33 $2.44 $2.56
Tier 2 $2.06 $2.22 $2.37 $2.52 $2.67 $2.83 $2.98 $3.13 $3.29 $3.44
Tier 3 $2.43 $2.61 $2.79 $2.97 $3.15 $3.33 $3.51 $3.69 $3.87 $4.05

(CONTINUED)
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Agriculture lessee meter service (base) fees:
Meter size
(inches)

Bi-Monthly | FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
5/8" $6.21 $6.82 $7.43 $8.04 $8.65 $9.26 $9.87 | $10.48 | $11.09 | $11.70
3/4" $7.76 $8.53 $9.29 | $10.05| $10.82 | $11.58 | §$12.34| $13.10 | $13.87 | $14.63

1" $12.75 | $14.01 | $15.26 | $16.51 | $17.77 | $19.02 | $20.27 | $21.53 | $22.78 | $24.04
112" $24.40 | $26.80 | $29.19 | $31.59 | $33.99 | $36.39 | $38.79 | $41.18 | $43.58 | $45.98
2" $33.27 | $36.54 | $39.81 | $43.08 | $46.35 | $49.62 | $52.89 | $56.16 | $59.43 | $62.70
3" $66.54 | $73.08 | $79.62 | $86.16 | $92.70 | $99.24 | $105.78 | $112.32 | $118.86 | $125.40
4" $121.99 | $133.98 | $145.97 | $157.96 | $169.95 | $181.94 | $193.93 | $205.92 | $217.91 | $229.90
6" $216.26 | $237.51 | $258.77 | $280.02 | $301.28 | $322.53 | $343.79 | $365.04 | $386.30 | $407.55
8" $332.70 | $365.40 | $398.10 | $430.80 | $463.50 | $496.20 | $528.90 | $561.60 | $594.30 | $627.00
Agriculture lessee water service delivery (usage) fees:
Per 1,000
gallons FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
Tier 1 $1.53 $1.65 $1.76 $1.87 $1.99 $2.10 $2.22 $2.33 $2.44 $2.56
Tier 2 $2.06 $2.22 $2.37 $2.52 $2.67 $2.83 $2.98 $3.13 $3.29 $3.44
Tier 3 $0.82 $0.88 $0.94 $1.00 $1.06 $1.12 $1.19 $1.25 $1.31 $1.37
(CONTINUED)
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Non-Beneficiary Service Rates:

Non-Beneficiary water service delivery

Gallons
Bi-Monthly
Tier 1 0—10,000
Tier 2 10,001 — 30,000
Tier 3 Over 30,000

(usage)

Exhibit “A”
April 17,

tiers:

Non-Beneficiary commercial / non-agriculture meter service

2018

(base) fees:
Meter size
(inches)
Bi-Monthly FY 19 FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28
5/8” $40.35 $50.70 $61.05 $71.40 $81.75 $92.10 $102.45 $112.80 $123.15 $133.50
% $59.18 $74.36 $89.54 $104.72 $119.90 $135.08 $150.26 $165.44 $180.62 $195.80
1” $94.15 $118.30 $142.45 $166.60 $190.75 $214.90 $239.05 $263.20 $287.35 $311.50
17 $182.92 $229.84 $276.76 $323.68 $370.60 $417.52 $464.44 $511.36 $558.28 $605.20
27 $282.45 $354.90 $427.35 $499.80 $572.25 $644.70 $717.15 $789.60 $862.05 $934.50
3” $524.55 $659.10 $793.65 $928.20 | $1,062.75 | $1,197.30 | $1,331.85 | $1,466.40 | $1,600.95 | $1,735.50
4” $860.80 | $1,081.60 | $1,302.40 | $1,523.20 | $1,744.00 | $1,964.80 | $2,185.60 | $2,406.40 | $2,627.20 | $2,848.00
6” $1,708.15 | $2,146.30 | $2,584.45 | $3,022.60 | $3,460.75 | $3,898.90 | $4,337.05 | $4,775.20 | $5,213.35 | $5,651.50
8” $2,690.00 | $3,380.00 | $4,070.00 | $4,760.00 | $5,450.00 | $6,140.00 | $6,830.00 | $7,520.00 | $8,210.00 | $8,900.00
Non-Beneficiary commercial / non-agriculture water service
delivery (usage) fees:
Per 1,000

gallons FY19 | FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28

Tier 1 $2.21 $2.63 $3.04 $3.46 $3.87 $4.28 $4.70 $5.11 $5.53 $5.94

Tier 2 $4.12 $4.89 $5.66 $6.43 $7.20 $7.97 $8.74 $9.51 | $10.28 | $11.06

Tier 3 $6.09 $7.23 $8.37 $9.50 | $10.64 | $11.78 | $12.92 | $14.06 | $1520 | $16.34

(CONTINUED)
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Non-Beneficiary commercial / agriculture meter service (base)
fees:

Meter size

(inches)

Bi-Monthly FY 19 FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28
5/8" $40.35 $50.70 $61.05 $71.40 $81.75 $92.10 $102.45 $112.80 $123.15 $133.50
3/4" $59.18 $74.36 $89.54 $104.72 $119.90 $135.08 $150.26 $165.44 $180.62 $195.80
1" $94.15 $118.30 $142.45 $166.60 $190.75 $214.90 $239.05 $263.20 $287.35 $311.50
112" $182.92 $229.84 $276.76 $323.68 $370.60 $417.52 $464.44 $511.36 $558.28 $605.20
2" $282.45 $354.90 $427.35 $499.80 $572.25 $644.70 $717.15 $789.60 $862.05 $934.50
3" $524.55 $659.10 $793.65 $928.20 | $1,062.75 | $1,197.30 | $1,331.85 | $1,466.40 | $1,600.95 | $1,735.50
4" $860.80 | $1,081.60 | $1,302.40 | $1,523.20 | $1,744.00 | $1,964.80 | $2,185.60 | $2,406.40 | $2,627.20 | $2,848.00
6" $1,708.15 | $2,146.30 | $2,584.45 | $3,022.60 | $3,460.75 | $3,898.90 | $4,337.05 | $4,775.20 | $5,213.35 | $5,651.50
8" $2,690.00 | $3,380.00 | $4,070.00 | $4,760.00 | $5,450.00 | $6,140.00 | $6,830.00 | $7,520.00 | $8,210.00 | $8,900.00

Non-Beneficiary commercial / agriculture water service delivery
(usage) fees:
Per 1,000
gallons FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
Tier 1 $2.21 $2.63 $3.04 $3.46 $3.87 $4.28 $4.70 $5.11 $5.53 $5.94
Tier 2 $4.12 $4.89 $5.66 $6.43 $7.20 $7.97 $8.74 $9.51 | $10.28 | $11.06
Tier 3 $6.09 $7.23 $8.37 $9.50 | $10.64 | $11.78 | $12.92 | $14.06 | $15.20| $16.34

(END Exhibit “A")
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KAWATHAE WATER SYSTEM SERVICE RATES
APPROVED ON MAY 15, 2018
Residential Lessee Service Rates:
Residential lessee meter service (base) fees:

Meter size

(inches)

Bi-Monthly | FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
5/8" $49.07 | $63.37 | $77.70 | $92.06 | $106.46 | $120.90 | $135.37 | $149.88 | $164.42 | $179.01
Residential lessee service delivery (usage) tiers:

Gallons Bi-Monthly
Tier 1 0-10,000
Tier 2 10,001 - 30,000
Tier 3 30,001 - 80,000
Tier 4 Over 80,000
Residential lessee service delivery (usage) fees:

Per 1,000
gallons FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
Tier 1 $3.67 $4.73 $5.81 $6.88 $7.95 $9.03 | $10.11 | $11.20| $12.28 | $13.37
Tier 2 $4.92 $6.35 $7.79 $9.23 | $10.68 | $12.12 | $13.58 | $15.03 | $16.49 | $17.95
Tier 3 $6.89 $890 | $1092 | $1294 | $1496| $1699 | $19.02 | $21.06 | $23.10| $25.15
Tier 4 $8.30 | $10.73 | $13.15| $15.58 | $18.02 | $20.46 | $22.91 | $2537| $27.83 | $30.30

(CONTINUED)
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Exhibit “B”

May 15,

Kailapa Community Association Service Rates:

2018

Kailapa Community Association meter service (base) fees:
Meter size
(inches)
Bi-Monthly | FY 19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
5/8" $49.07 | $63.37 | $77.70 | $92.06 | $106.46 | $120.90 | $135.37 | $149.88 | $§164.42 | §179.01
Kailapa Community Association water service delivery (usage)
tier:
Gallons
Bi-Monthly
Tier 1 9,999,999
Kailapa Community Association water service delivery (usage)
fees:
Per 1,000
gallons FY19| FY20| FY21| FY22| FY23| FY24| FY25| FY26| FY27| FY28
Tier 1 $11.41 | $14.73 | $18.06 | $21.40 | $24.75 | $28.11 | $31.47 | $34.84 | $38.22 | $41.61

(END Exhibit “B”)
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Exhibit “C”
August 21, 2018

ANAHOLA WATER SYSTEM SERVICE RATES
APPROVED ON AUGUST 21, 2018

Residential Lessee Service Rates:

Residential lessee meter service (base) fees:

Meter size
(inches) FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28 FY 29
5/8" $28.08 $32.16 $36.24 $40.32 $44.40 $48.48 $52.56 $56.64 $60.72 $64.80
3/4" $37.44 $42.88 $48.32 $53.76 $59.20 $64.64 $70.08 $75.52 $80.96 $86.40
1" $58.50 $67.00 $75.50 $84.00 $92.50, $101.00] $109.50, $118.00] $126.50, $135.00
112" $105.30 $120.60, $135.90] $151.20, $166.50, $181.80 $197.10] $212.40] $227.70, $243.00
2" $175.50 $201.00] $226.50] $252.00 $277.50] $303.00 $328.50, $354.00] $379.50, $405.00
4" $514.80 $589.60, $664.40, $739.20, $814.00f $888.80| $963.60, $1,038.40| $1,113.20, $1,188.00
Residential lessee water service delivery (usage) tiers:
TIER 1 TIER 2 TIER 3
METER Gallons Gallons Gallons
SIZE Bi-monthly Bi-monthly Bi-monthly
5/8” 0—20,000 20,001 — 40,000 > 40,000
3/4” 0-70,000 70,001 — > 140,000
140,000
1” 0-200,000 200,001 — > 400,000
400,000
11/2” 0 -600,000 600,001 — > 1,200,000
1,200,000
27 0-1,200,000 1,200,001 — > 2,400,000
2,400,000
4” 0-6,000,000 6,000,001 — > 12,000,000
12,000,000
Residential lessee water service delivery (usage) fees:
Per 1,000
gallons FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28 FY 29
Tier 1 $3.23 $3.70 $4.17 $4.64 $5.11 $5.58 $6.04 $6.51 $6.98 $7.45
Tier 2 $3.74 $4.29 $4.83 $5.38 $5.92 $6.46 $7.01 $7.55 $8.10 $8.64
Tier 3 $5.27 $6.03 $6.80 $7.56 $8.33 $9.09 $9.86 $10.62 $11.39 $12.15

(CONTINUED)
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Exhibit “C”

August 21,

2018

Agricultural Lessee Service Rates:

Agricultural lessee meter service (base) fees:
Meter size
(inches) FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28 FY 29
5/8" $28.08 $32.16 $36.24 $40.32 $44.40 $48.48 $52.56 $56.64 $60.72 $64.80
3/4" $37.44 $42.88 $48.32 $53.76 $59.20 $64.64 $70.08 $75.52 $80.96 $86.40
1" $58.50 $67.00 $75.50 $84.00 $92.50] $101.00 $109.50] $118.00] $126.50, $135.00
112" $105.30, $120.60] $13590, $151.20f $166.50] $181.80 $197.10] $212.40] $227.70] $243.00
2" $175.50, $201.00] $226.50 $252.00f $277.50] $303.00, $328.50] $354.00] $379.50, $405.00
4" $514.80, $589.60] $664.40 $739.20] $814.00] $888.80| $963.60| $1,038.40] $1,113.20, $1,188.00
Agricultural lessee water service delivery (usage) tiers:
TIER 1 TIER 2
METER SIZE | # of structures Gallons Gallons
Bi-monthly | Bi-monthly
5/8” N/A 0—25,000 > 25,000
3/4” 1 0—25,000 > 25,000
3/4” 2 0-50,000 > 50,000
11/2” 1 0—25,000 > 25,000
11/2” 2 0-50,000 > 50,000
2” 1 0—25,000 > 25,000
27 2 0-50,000 > 50,000
Agricultural lessee water service delivery (usage) fees:
Per 1,000
gallons FY 20 FY 21 FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 25 FY 26 FY 27 FY 28 FY 29
Tier 1 $3.23 $3.70 $4.17 $4.64 $5.11 $5.58 $6.04 $6.51 $6.98 $7.45
Tier 2 $0.82 $0.94 $1.06 $1.18 $1.30 $1.41 $1.53 $1.65 $1.77 $1.89

(END Exhibit “C”)
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Exhibit “D”
May 15, 2018

PUUKAPU MAINTENANCE FEE
APPROVED ON MAY 19, 2014 AND EXTENDED ON MAY 15, 2018

COST COMPONENT RATE PER MONTH
e Standby Charge: 4-Inch Master Meter $255.00 per $ 1.39
month. $255.00/184 lots = $1.39 per lot
e Flat Rate Water Charge $ 18.00
e Electricity Charge ($1,692/40 users) $ 42.30
e Operations and Maintenance (10,761/184 users) $ 58.48
e Potable Water via Spigot (600 gpd/40 users) $ 2.24
TOTAL $122.41

One-time equipment and installation costs:

EQUIPMENT/INSTALLATION COST

5/8” Meter $114.00
Backflow Preventer $675.00
TOTAL $789.00

(END Exhibit “D”)
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